//Google Analytics tracking code
This is the "Home" page of the "A-Z List of All Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A-Z List of All Databases  

This is an alphabetical list of all research databases currently owned (subscribed) by the VC/UHV Library.
Last Updated: Mar 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uhv.edu/atozlist Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

A-Z List of All Databases

See our page on browser and technical requirements.

help icon= tutorial or help  TexShare logo = a TexShare database Video Icon= a video database

Jump to:

A B C D E F G H I J/K L M N O P/Q R S T-U-V W-Z

  • A to Z Maps Online
    Database of proprietary and royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included are: political, physical, outline, population, precipitation, climate, and other thematic maps. Library Subscription
  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    Provides full text for nearly 5,318 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, biological & ecological sciences, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Accounting & Tax (Proquest)
    The Accounting & Tax Database combines full text, indexing and abstracts of articles published in nearly 300 accounting and tax publications with official releases from the AICPA and FASB and selective indexing of tax-related information in business journals. It was previously known as the Accountants' Index and the ACCOUNTANTS database. Proquest (Library Subscription)
  • ACCRA Cost of Living Index
    Produced by the ACCRA to provide a useful and reasonably accurate measure of living cost differences among urban areas. PDF FILES ACCRA/Library Subscription
  • ACM Digital Library
    Full text access to the Association for Computing Machinery's core package of magazines and journals, special interest group conference proceedings and newsletters. Also includes the Online Guide to Computing Literature, a citations database to nonACM works in computing. Association for Computing Machinery/Library Subscription
  • Alternative Health Watch  Icon
    Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full text articles from more than 170 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, association & consumer newsletters (most from 1990 to the present), plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. EBSCO/TexShare
  • America's News Magazines
    Collection of full-text magazines, covering general news, business, entertainment, sports, lifestyle, science, and technology. Text only, no illustrations. 27 titles including, Time, Newsweek, Sports Illustrated, People, In Style. Newsbank/Library Subscription
  • Annual Review of Biochemistry
    The Annual Review of Biochemistry provides synthesis of the primary research literature in this area of scientific study. The editors and researchers filter the vast amount of research to guide the user to the principal contributions in the field of biochemsitry. The VC/UHV Library has access to the Annual Review of Biochemistry from 1997 to the present. Annual Reviews/Library Subscription
  • Bibliography of Native North Americans  Icon
    Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. EBSCO/Texshare
  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index
    Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Gale/Library Subscription
  • Biography in Context
    Biography in Context provides thumbnail & narrative biographies on over 500,000 people from standard library reference books. There are also full-text biographical articles from about 265 magazines. Gale/Library Subscription
  • BioMed Central: The Open Access Publisher
    This site gives full-text access to 223 peer-reviewed open access journals in the fields of medicine and biology. All articles published by BioMed Central are archived and available in PubMed Central.
  • Book Review Digest Plus  Icon
    Brings together book reviews on subjects such as art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, music, and more with coverage back to 1983. EBSCO/H.W. Wilson/Texshare
  • Books 24/7
    Books 24x7 is a large collection of electronic books. Our subscription covers the ITPro and Business Pro collections. All titles contain the complete and unabridged contents of books and documents in a fully searchable, web-based environment. Library Subscription
  • Business Abstracts with Full Text  Icon
    Offers full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, statistical rankings, and more. EBSCO/H.W. Wilson/TexShare
  • Business and Economics Video Online
    Focuses on the study, analysis, and application of commerce in all of its dimensions. Included are case studies, documentaried, interviews, biographies, lectures, and instructional videos. Subjects covered includ marketing, sales, finance, macro & microeconomics, personnel management, logistics & operations, strategy, negotiations, theory, cross-cultural issues, social media marketing, ethics, project management, leadership, and entrepreneurship.
  • Business Insights Global
    This database is a blend of content types, providing full text periodical coverage for business titles, company profiles, industry rankings, investment reports, financial ratios, and stock quotes in order to research and analyze companies, industries and economics around the world. Provides information for case study work in finance, economics and marketing. Gale/Library Subscription
  • Business Plans Handbooks
    A collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. In over 18 volumes, these electronic books present sample plans taken from businesses in manufacturing, retail & service industries (the company names have been changed). This link allows you to search all volumes. To access them by individual volume, use the VC/UHV Library Online Catalog. Gale/VCUHV Library
  • Business Source Complete  Icon
    Indexes over 10,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, full text for over 9,500 titles, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Includes industry & market research reports from Datamonitor and country reports from CountryWatch and Business Monitor. Covers all areas of business. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Business Source Complete - Enhanced Interface  Icon
    Since the content of the Business Source database is gathered from a wide variety of sources including Academic Journals, SWOT Analyses, Trade Publications, Industry Profiles, Company Profiles, Market Research Reports, and Product Reviews, this new interface allows users to easily refine their searches to extract only the content from their preferred source types. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Cabell's Directories
    Current information on addresses, phone, fax, e-mail and websites for a large number of professional journals. Also information on publication guidelines, review information and circulation data. Cabell's/Library Subscription
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
    Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.) U.S. Government Printing Office
  • Chicago Manual of Style
    Online version of the classic guide for publishers, editors and writers. Sections on preparing manuscripts for publishing, editing for print and online publications and citing sources in all formats. Has substantial sections on preparing manuscripts for electronic publishing, editing for online publications and citing electronic sources. Remote access to UHV only Chicago U. Press/Library Subscription
  • CINAHL Complete  Icon
    Comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals. Provides full text for more than 1,300 journals. Coverage dates back to 1937. Includes searchable Cited References, Evidence-based Care Sheets, Continuing Education Modules Modules, and full text Research Instrument Records. EBSCO/Library Subscription
  • Cochrane Library  Icon
    The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. Wiley/Library Subscription
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
    Provides indexing and abstracts for over 550 journals, many dating as far back as 1915. There is also full-text for over 250 journals. This database incorporates CommSearch (produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (produced by Penn State). EBSCO. Library Subscription
  • Computer Source  Icon
    Information and current trends in technology. Offers full text for nearly 300 publications, and indexing and abstracting for nearly 450. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Contemporary Authors  Icon
    Contains the full text of critical biographies of literary authors from the beginning of the 20th century to the present.Gale/Library Subscription
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism
    Surveys critical thought on literary authors from the beginning of the 20th century to the present. Provides excerpts of criticisms from the time an author was first writing to what present day critics are saying. This database can be searched by itself or simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Gale/Library Subscription
  • CQ Researcher
    Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. CQ Press/Library Subscription
  • Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
    Online collection of documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety. Alexander Street/Library Subscription
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography  Icon
    Critical biographies of literary authors from all time periods, genres, and national literatures. This database can be searched by itself or simultaneously with Contemporary Literary Criticism and Contemporary Authors. Gale/Library Subscription
  • Dissertation Abstracts International
    This database has been RENAMED. Please browse to Proquest Dissertations.
  • Dynamed
    Clinical reference tool created by health care professionals for "point of care" use. Updated daily, monitors over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases. Each publication is reviewed cover-to-cover and evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. New evidence is integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed to represent a synthesis of the best available evidence. EBSCO/Library Subscription
  • eBook Collection (EBSCO)
    Electronic book collection of over 45,000 titles in all academic disciplines. All titles are provided full-text. This collection was formerly known as "netLibrary" EBSCO/VCUHV Library
  • Economica y Negocios  Icon
    Index and abstracts for over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language business and economics periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, & the United States. EBSCO/Texshare
  • Education Source
    Created from a merger of H.W. Wilson's Education Index and EBSCO's Education Research Complete. Contains full text for over 1,700 journals, over 500 books and education-related conference papers. EBSCO/Library Subscription
  • ERIC  Icon
    Index of journal literature in education, as well as education-related material such as books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, curriculum materials, and theses. Links to available full-text. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Essay and General Literature Index  Icon
    Cites records in collections of essays and works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada dating back to 1985 and spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences. EBSCO/H.W. Wilson/TexShare
  • Estatement Studies
    Online version of The RMA Annual Statement Studies which is the source of composite performance metrics derived from the financial statement of financial institutions' borrowers and prospects. Financial Ratio Benchmarks for more than 760 industries are represented using NAICS codes. Trend data is available for the last 4 years. Risk Management Association/Library Subscription
  • Ethnographic Video Online  Icon
    Online collection of video for the study of human culture and behavior, focused on ethnographic related topics. Alexander Street/Library Subscription
  • Films on Demand  Icon
    Video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Our database provides video produced by Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Library Subscription
  • First Research - Mergent
    Locate trends, forecasts and more for over 200 industries. Each industry reports includes: overview, recent developments, business challenges, trends and opportunities, call prep questions, financial information (including 15 ratio categories), and industry forecast and rating. Note: Email alerts not available to academic subscribers Mergent/Library Subscription
  • Foundation Directory Online
    Comprehensive and current online source on foundation grants. Includes detailed information on 76,000 foundtions, with links to current foundation 990-PF tax filing and crucial facts on over 350,000 grants. In Library use only
  • Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
    Database of programs that award grants to individuals. Includes over 5,600 grant programs searchable by foundation name, city, state, field of interested, type of support, geographic focus, and more. In Library Use Only
  • Fuente Academica
    Spanish language database containing PDF full text for nearly 260 peer-reviewed scholarly journals published in native Spanish. EBSCO/Texshare
  • Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  Icon
    Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. This database is updated annually. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Gale Literary Index
    Master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source. A search of this database by the name of an author will result in citations to entries on that author and treatments of that author's major works in the 130 products published by the Gale group. This database will only provide the citation. The full text must then be located.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Gale/VCUHVLibrary
  • Global Road Warrior
    Practical business travel guide to over 175 countries. In addition to basic geographical information such as climate and demographics, has great information about doing business in the selected country. Information includes business ethics, how meetings are conducted, proper business attire & attitudes toward time and punctuality. Technical information about internet connections, communications, health and medical for the traveler is also included. Library Subscription
  • Handbook of Texas
    Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture containing more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, and institutions. Texas State Historical Association
  • Health Reference Center - Academic  Icon
    Integrated database providing articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, and magazines with full-text reference works, multi-media, and consumer health information. Gale/TexShare
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition  Icon
    Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 170 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  Icon
    Provides nearly 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Heritage Quest Online  Icon
    Collection of genealogical material from Bell & Howell includes family histories, genealogical serials, local histories, and primary sources in full image. Chadwyck-Healey/TexShare
  • Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center  Icon
    Offers "how-to" instructions for virtually every hobby enthusiast with full text for more than 1,500 leading hobby books and craft magazines that cover Arts & Crafts, Collecting, Home & Garden, Indoor Recreation, Kids' Crafts, Model Building, Needlecrafts & Textiles, and more. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Home Improvement Reference Center  Icon
    Provides users with user-friendly “how-to” information covering a range of home improvement and repair projects and features full-text content from leading magazines, images not found anywhere else online, and videos of popular home repair projects. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Hoover's Online
    Based on a proprietary database of more than 18,500 records of companies in the U.S. and abroad. Provides company, industry and market information concerning over 12 million companies, public and private, in more than 600 industries. Users can search by company name, names of executives, SIC or NAICS code, location, and many other variables. Dun & Bradstreet/Library Subscription
  • Horn Book Guide Online
    Short, critical reviews of hardcover trade books published in the U.S. for young people. Reviews identify strengths and weaknesses and rate books on a scale of 1 to 6 with 1 being the highest. Searchable by author, title, illustrator, and subjects. Library Subscription
  • Humanities Full Text  Icon
    Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama and poetry in all fields of the humanities from art, classical studies, and film to journalism and more. EBSCO/H.W. Wilson/TexShare
  • Index to Texas Magazines and Documents
    Emphasis on Texas publications in business, education, history, and government, with magazines of general interest also included. VC/UHV Library
  • Information Science and Technology Abstracts  Icon
    Indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings in the areas of information science, online information retrieval, information management, and electronic publishing. EBSCO/Texshare
  • Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts  Icon
    Provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home. Contains content coverage that extends back to the 1980s for over 400 of the most computer magazines, and professional journals. Formerly MicroComputer Index. EBSCO/Library Subscription
  • Job and Career Accelerator  Icon
    Fully integrated online career and job search platform designed to guide job seeker through effective career selection and job search. Create resumes, find job and internship opportunities, assess career alternatives and master interviewing skills. Learning Express/TexShare
  • Journals@OVID
    Full-text of important nursing journals not found in other databases - American Journal of Nursing; CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing; JONA's Healthcare Law, Ethics, and Regulation; JONA: The Journal of Nursing Administration; MCN, The American Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing; Nurse Educator; The Nurse Practitioner, Nursing 0X; and, Nursing Research. OVID/Library subscription
  • JSTOR  
      
    The JSTOR database contains the complete archives of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800's. The VC/UHV Library's JSTOR/Library Subscription/ collection consists of journals in the liberal arts, business, and health. JSTOR
  • Learning Express Library  Icon
    Comprehensive selection of career-oriented and academic resources available to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes, and re-entry into the workforce. Learning Express/TexShare
  • Legal Collection  Icon
    Full text for nearly 250 scholarly law journals centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment. EBSCO/Texshare
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
    LexisNexis is several databases in one. It is a journals database, providing indexing and fulltext for hundreds of magazines, journals, and newspapers. It is a business database that provides company news, history and financial data. it is a legal database that provides full text court cases, state and federal codes, along with legal news and reviews. It also provides access to TV and radio broadcast transcripts.
  • Library Press Display
    Collection of newspapers from around the world. Includes over 1700 titles from the U.S., Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and Latin America. Full-color and full-page with a 60 day archive. Browse and search capabilities. Our subscription is limited to 3 simultaneous users, please logout when finished Library subscription
  • Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts  Icon
    Coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more EBSCO
  • Literary Reference Center  Icon
    Provides information on thousands of authors and their works through an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries, poems, short stories, author interviews and more. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Literature Criticism Online  Icon
    Electronic version of several Gale literature cricitism series. The VC/UHV Library has purchased the Short Story, Poetry, Drama, and Nineteenth Century Criticism sets . The Contemporary Literature Cricitism Series is available through Literature Resource Center. Other titles in the criticism series, such as Shakespeare Criticism are available in paper format in the Library's Reference Collection. Gale/Library Subscription
  • Literature Resource Center  Icon
    A multi-faceted reference source containing more than 285,000 full-text journal articles from more than 133 literary journals, 38,000 critical essays, 4,329 work overviews, plot summaries and explications. Users can also find more than 122,000 author biographies, 2,500 author portraits. Included as well is the Merriam-Webster's® Encyclopedia of Literature. GaleGroup/Texshare
  • MAS Ultra  Icon
    Provides full text from nearly 460 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. Also offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 530 magazines. Includes over 3,000 charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text; 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews; full text of 144 reference books; over 540 health and science-related pamphlets in full text; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; and Essential Documents in American History. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Master File Premier  Icon
    Provides full text for nearly 1,860 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. Also includes indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,780 periodicals. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Masterplots
    Masterplots is part of the the Magill on Literature database
  • MedicLatina  Icon
    Spanish language database containing the complete table of contents and PDF full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals published in native Spanish. EBSCO/Texshare
  • Medline with Full Text
    Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text coverage for over 1,300 journals as far back as 1965. EBSCO/Texshare/LibrarySubscription
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
    Provides information about English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the print Mental Measurements Yearbooks. This database also includes the complete Tests in Print database, which serves as a bibliography to all known commercially available tests in the English language. EBSCO/Library subscription
  • Mergent Online
    Electronic version and successor to the Moody's Manuals. The VC/UHV Library subscribes to U.S. Company and International Company databases Mergent's company files also provide access to EDGAR® filings back to 1993, updated daily. Mergent/Library Subscription
  • Middle Search Plus  Icon
    Designed to assist middle and junior high school students in learning how to research current events. Includes full text of 120 most popular K-12 magazines. EBSCO/Texshare
  • Military and Government Collection  Icon
    Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military. The database provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. Also included is full text of over 245 pamphlets. EBSCO/Texshare
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Bibliographic index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is compiled by the Modern Language Association. Annually indexes over 50,000 books and articles. Also available in the Literature Resource Center. EBSCO/Library Subscription
  • Natural and Alternative Treatments  Icon
    Complementary and alternative medicine database for consumer-health research. Contains articles on medical conditions and the alternative medicine therapies proposed for use in their treatment. Also contains evidence-based information on herbs, supplements, functional foods, and other alternative therapies such as acupuncture and homeopathy. EBSCO/Texshare
  • New York Times
    Comprehensive digital coverage of the "official" U.S. newspaper. Each issue of the paper is indexed thoroughly, providing access to news stories as well as the arts, sports, business and popular culture. Full text coverage begins with 1999 and the database is updated daily. Issues prior to 1999 may be searched and located using the New York Times Historical Database, which provides digitized issues of the Times from 1851 to 2007. Proquest/Library Subscription
  • New York Times Historical (1851-2007)
    This historical database of the New York Times provides the full image of articles published in the NYT from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph. It includes illustrations and advertisements. Proquest/Library Subscription
  • Newspaper Source  Icon
    Provides full text for 139 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, for a total of 174 full text newspapers and other sources. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Nursing Education in Video  Icon
    Online collection of video created for the education and training of nurses and health care workers. Students and practitioners can see, experience and study nursing techniques and theories. Created by Medcom-Trainex, the world's leading producer of nursing education video.
  • One Source Global Business Browser  Icon
    Company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, industry reports, and financial health data on over 1.7 million public and private organizations worldwide. Reference USA/Library Subscription
  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
    Provides access to more than 1.6 million open-access theses and dissertations freely available from over 800 institutions worldwide.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  Icon
    Examines contemporary issues from the pro and con. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. Gale/Library Subscription
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the accepted authority on the English language . It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over a half a million words, present and past. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. The online version is updated quarterly. Oxford U. Press/Library Subscription
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Covering the full spectrum of subjects: from General Reference & Language to Science & Medicine, from Humanities & Social Sciences to Business and Professional, Oxford Reference Online is a full & authoritative resource of over 100 dictionaries and reference titles. Library subscription provides access for 5 simultaneous users.Oxford U. Press/Library Subscription
  • Philosopher's Index
    Index and abstracts to philosophy journal articles, books, anthologies, and contributions to anthologies. Covers publications from 1940 to present in the following fields: ethics, metaphysics, epistemology, social philosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, philosophy of education, aesthetics, logic, philosophy of language, and many more. Please note that subscription is limited to 1 simultaneous user. EBSCO/Library Subscription
  • Play Index  Icon
    Covers over 31,000 classic and historical plays dating from 1949, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from famous playwrights. EBSCO/H.W. Wilson/TexShare
  • Primary Search  Icon
    Designed for elementary schools and children's reading rooms, this database includes full text of articles from over 50 of the most popular K-12 magazines. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Professional Development Collection  Icon
    Specialized collection for professional educators. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Proquest Criminal Justice
    Provides indexing and abstracts for about 200 U.S. and international journals in the areas of criminal justice, corrections administration, law enforcements, social work, criminal and family law. Also provides full text for about 50 of the most frequently accessed journals used by criminal justice researchers. Proquest/Library Subscription
  • Proquest Dissertations
    Provides citations to doctoral dissertations and master's theses on all subjects written from 1861 to the present. Those from 1980 forward also contain a brief summary or abstract of 150-350 words. Proquest/Library Subscription
  • PsycARTICLES
    Contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 49 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present. EBSCO/Library Subscription
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  Icon
    Comprehensive database with 470 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. EBSCO/TexShare
  • PsycINFO  Icon
    Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. American Psychological Association/Library Subscription
  • PubMed
    National Library of Medicine PubMed is a database of over 15 million citations for articles published in more than 4800 biomedical journals and magazines from the U.S. and 70 other countries. Coverage dates back to the 1950's. Links to full text and related resources are included.
  • Rand Texas
    Rand Texas, a service of the nation’s leading think tank, is a portfolio of statistics on Texas and other states drawn from over 110 databases in 7 categories: Economics (employment, foreign trade, airline operations, etc.) to Population/Demographics (populations, projections, immigration, mortality, etc.) to Education (enrollment, finances, teacher salaries, etc.) and more (Health and Socioeconomic, Government Finance, Energy and Environment, and Community).
    Library subscription
  • Regional Business News  Icon
    Full text newswire database incorporating business wires from all over the world. Included in this database are A&G Information, Africa News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business News Wire, Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network, and Phillips Business Information Highlights. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection  Icon
    Database covering world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Contains 250 full text journals. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Research Starters - Business
    Provides comprehensive summaries of specific topics in business to help you get the broad outlines of a subject and locate sources for advanced research. Each entry contains an overview, a keyword list for further searching, a bibliography, and a suggested reading list. EBSCO/Library Subscription
  • Research Starters - Education
    Comprehensive summaries of specific topics in education to help you get the broad outlines of a subject and locate sources for further research. Each article contains a keyword list to use for further research, a lengthy overview, a glossary of terms & concepts, a bibliography, and a suggested reading list for further study. EBSCO/Library Subscription
  • RIA Checkpoint
    Tax & accounting internet research service, Checkpoint provides access to some of the most widely used tax products, including - U.S. Tax Reporter & RIA Citator. Also included are WG&L journals - Journal of Taxation, Corporate Taxation, and Practical Tax Strategies. Also FASB Codification, GASB, AICPA standards, Thomson/Library Subscription
  • Salem Literature
    Provides full-text access to 2 e-book collections fro Salem Press: Critical Insights -Authors and Critical Insights - Works. These series provide literary criticism of the world's most-studied literature. Salem Press/Library Subscription
  • Science and Technology Collection  Icon
    Contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. Also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. EBSCO/Texshare
  • Science Direct
    Searchable, browsable database of journals published by Elsevier Publishers. The VC/UHV Library has full-text access to about 1,200 journals in the health and life sciences, and the social sciences - including business, managements, economics, accountin, finance, and psychology. Abstracts, tables of contents and some complimentary full-text may be available in other subject areas. Elsevier/Library Subscription
  • Scribner Writer Series  Icon
    Includes 1,564 essays on authors of all nationalities and time periods. Essays include broad biocritical overviews as well as specialized treatments. Each essay includes a concise introductory preface and a biography placing the author's work within a personal and historical framework. Gale/TexShare
  • Serials Directory  Icon
    Access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular magazines and journals. EBSCO/Texshare
  • Short Story Index  Icon
    Contains information on short stories by author or genre, and provides detailed indexing for more than 117,000 stories from more than 4,200 collections and anthologies. EBSCO/H.W. Wilson/TexShare
  • Small Business Reference Center  Icon
    Contains more than 450 full-text reference books and nearly 400 full-text periodicals that provide detailed “how-to” instructions to address small business topics, such as buying and selling a business, managing employees, writing a business plans, understanding legal information, a business and much more. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Small Engine Repair Reference Center  Icon
    Provides repair guides for small engines and routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs (engine and transmission disassembly) and also allows users to search by product type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type, and model numbers. EBSCO/TexShare
  • STAT!Ref  Icon
    Stat!Ref is an electronically searchable, digital medical library for healthcare professionals. Users can cross-reference and search the latest clinical information from more than 80 medical texts including the Merck Manual, Mosby's Drug Consult, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-IV-TR). Stat!Ref/TexShare
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    A one-volume summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Stat Abstract is an answer book (How much corn is grown in Indiana?) and a guide to statistical resources (What organization has the most authoritative data on foreclosures?) Produced and published now by Proquest. Library subscription
  • Texas Digital Sanborn Maps  Icon
    Produced for over 100 years, Sanborn maps charted the growth and development of American cities. Sanborn maps are large scale plans of a city or town, at a scale of 50ft to an inch. TexShare
  • Texas Reference Center  Icon
    Includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. Contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans. Also available is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas. EBSCO/Texshare
  • TOPICsearch  Icon
    Designed for students, TOPICsearch can be used as both a reference resource in the school library and a curriculum support tool in the classroom. EBSCO/TexShare
  • Twayne Author Series  Icon
    Has critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. Primarily devoted to critical interpretation and discussion of authors' works, these studies take account of major literary trends and important contributions to scholarship and criticism. Gale/TexShare
  • Twentieth Century American Poetry  Icon
    Collection includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets. Chadwyck-Healey/TexShare
  • Twentieth Century English Poetry  Icon
    A collection of 594 volumes of poetry by 282 poets from 1900 to the present day. Chadwyck-Healey/TexShare
  • Ulrich's
    Guide to periodical publications in print. Provides subscription information, editorial offices, and other information to periodicals published worldwide.Library Subscription
  • Value Line Investment Survey
    Informationand advice on over 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Value Line/Library subscription
  • VAST: Academic Video Online  Icon
    Comprehensive collection of online video. Academic Video Online, also known as VAST, provides a cross-search of all Alexander Street Press video subscribed to by our library in a wide variety of subject areas. Currently provides access to over 13,000 video titles. Alexander Street/Library Subscription
  • Victoria Advocate/Newsbank Database
    Full- text database of the Victoria Advocate newspaper. Find articles appearing in the Advocate beginning in 1999 to the present. Does not include paid advertising or classified sections. Newsbank/Library subscription
  • Vocational and Career Collection  Icon
    Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry-related periodicals. EBSCO/Texshare
  • Wall Street Journal
    Indexing and full text coverage of the world's leading financial newspaper (eastern edition.) Dates of coverage are from 1984 to the present. The database is updated daily. Proquest/Library subscription
  • Web of Science
    Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Cited reference searching is available. Library subscription covers period from 2003 to present. UHV users only. Thomson Reuters/Library Subscription
  • Westlaw Campus Research
    Westlaw Campus provides users access to legal information. Some of materials available in Westlaw Campus are: cases from the federal courts and all 50 states; state and federal statutes; federal regulations; American Law Reports; American Jurisprudence. West Group/Library Subscription
  • World Cat  Icon
    Worldwide bibliographic database representing the library holdings of OCLC libraries. TexShare
  • World History Collection  Icon
    Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964. EBSCO/Texshare
 

Ask A Librarian

AskaLibrarian

Phone: 361-570-4166

Toll-free: 800-687-5006

Our LibGuides can help you with:

  • Citing Your Sources
  • Writing a Paper
  • Database Searching
  • Finding Literary Criticism

Go to our LibGuides Home Page

Guide Created by...

Profile Image
Karen Locher
Contact Info
361-570-4170
Send Email
Job Title:
Associate Director

VC/UHV Library
2602 N. Ben Jordan
Victoria, TX 77901

361-570-4166
toll-free 800-687-5006
Contact Us

Victoria College
UH-Victoria
Facebook WordPress RSS
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip