Rand Texas, a service of the nation’s leading think tank, is a portfolio of statistics on Texas and other states drawn from over 270 statistical databases in 14 categories: Population & Demographics; Health & Health Care; Business & Economics; Crimes, Prisons & Courts; Labor Force, Employment & Earnings; Energy; Environment, Resources & Weather; K-12 Education;Higher Education; Income, Expenditure, Wealth & Poverty; Social Insurance & Human Services; Transportation & Travel; Federal Government; State & Local Government. The Library's subscription includes U.S. and Texas statistics.Rand Corporation
A one-volume summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Stat Abstract is an answer book (How much corn is grown in Indiana?) and a guide to statistical resources (What organization has the most authoritative data on foreclosures?) Produced and published now by Proquest. Proquest
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the accepted authority on the English language . It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over a half a million words, present and past. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. The online version is updated quarterly. Oxford U. Press
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. This database is updated annually. EBSCO
Collection of full-text magazines, covering general news, business, entertainment, sports, lifestyle, science, and technology. Text only, no illustrations. 27 titles including, Time, Newsweek, Sports Illustrated, People, In Style. Newsbank
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books. Over 1,000 libraries participate.