- The most important thing in communication is to hear what isn't being said.
- Peter Drucker (1909 - 2005)
- A hundred years ago, the electric telegraph made possible - indeed, inevitable - the United States of America. The communications satellite will make equally inevitable a United Nations of Earth; let us hope that the transition period will not be equally bloody.
- Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - ), First on the Moon, 1970
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 550 journals, many dating as far back as 1915. There is also full-text for over 250 journals. This database incorporates CommSearch (produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (produced by Penn State). EBSCO. Library Subscription
The databases below provide journal articles in a wide spread of academic disciplines. Because good communication is important to so many fields, you might find relevant articles here.
- Business Source Complete
Indexes over 10,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, full text for over 9,500 titles, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Includes industry & market research reports from Datamonitor and country reports from CountryWatch and Business Monitor. Covers all areas of business. EBSCO/TexShare
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. American Psychological Association/Library Subscription
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 5,318 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, biological & ecological sciences, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. EBSCO/TexShare
- Academic OneFile
Directed primarily at academic researchers, Academic OneFile is a collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines from science, technology and medicine to the humanities. Content is provided in both HTML and PDF formats. Gale/Library Subscription
- CQ Researcher
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. CQ Press/Library Subscription
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Examines contemporary issues from the pro and con. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. Gale/Library Subscription
- Westlaw Campus Research
Westlaw Campus provides users access to legal information. Some of materials available in Westlaw Campus are: cases from the federal courts and all 50 states; state and federal statutes; federal regulations; American Law Reports; American Jurisprudence. West Group/Library Subscription
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis is several databases in one. It is a journals database, providing indexing and fulltext for hundreds of magazines, journals, and newspapers. It is a business database that provides company news, history and financial data. it is a legal database that provides full text court cases, state and federal codes, along with legal news and reviews. It also provides access to TV and radio broadcast transcripts.
Our LibGuides can help you with:
- Citing Your Sources
- Writing a Paper
- Database Searching
- Finding Literary Criticism
Go to our LibGuides Home Page
If we don't have it, don't worry! Our InterLibrary Loan Service can help.
We can borrow books and journal articles from another library.