//Google Analytics tracking code
This is the "Google Scholar - Getting Started" page of the "Google Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Google Scholar  

Google Scholar can help you find scholarly material on your research topic.
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uhv.edu/googlescholar Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Google Scholar - Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Benefits & Drawbacks

Benefits

  • Find material that does not show up when you search VC/UHV Library materials
  • Covers a wide range of academic disciplines
  • Can help you identify journals or authors connected to a particular topic
  • Search results provide information on books and articles in one search
  • Will help you find full citation information

Drawbacks

  • Not meant to replace the library catalog, reference material or electronic databases available through the VC/UHV Library website
  • Only searching Google Scholar will cause you to miss out on information that is important to your research
  • Full text is not widely available so VC/UHV Library resources must be used to retrieve the full text
  • Everything indexed in Google Scholar is not scholarly material
  • Cannot limit your search research like you can with library resources
 

Google Scholar - What is it?

Google Scholar is another tool that can be used to help you research. It is a way to search for material such as articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. You still need to evaluate the sources you find in Google Scholar because not everything is scholarly material.

The Advanced Search feature will allow you to search by author's last name and publication title. It will allow you to limit your results for articles published within the specified years or articles in a specific subject area. Google Scholar will not allow you to sort your results by publication date.

Not every document will be available with full text in Google Scholar, however, you can use the VC/UHV Library to link to or find full text. Before you can link to the full text, you must set your Google Scholar Library Links Settings.

Search Google Scholar



Subject Guide

Profile Image
Amanda Breu
Contact Info
Instruction and Outreach Librarian
VC/UHV Library
361.570.4169
Send Email
 

InterLibrary Loan Service

If we don't have it, don't worry!  Our InterLibrary Loan Service can help.

We can borrow books and journal articles from another library.

It's Free!

VC/UHV Library
2602 N. Ben Jordan
Victoria, TX 77901

361-570-4166
toll-free 800-687-5006
Contact Us

Victoria College
UH-Victoria
Facebook WordPress RSS
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip