//Google Analytics tracking code
This is the "Finding Information" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice  

Last Updated: Mar 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uhv.edu/criminaljustice Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

The Vault

  • FBI Records
    This web site serves as an online "vault" to thousands of declassified FBI documents and spans many decades. Visitors can search or browse the collection to find digital copies of scanned FBI files including memos, reports and other materials. Some information is still blacked out to protect identities or sensitive information, but you will still find many documents related to civil rights, gangsters, popular culture and violent crime. The scanned resources can reveal handwritten and other documents issued internally by the FBI during the bygone days of the typewriter. In addition to well-known and lesser-known criminals, you will find dossiers on Steve Jobs, Elizabeth Taylor, George Steinbrenner and even the pop group the Monkees

Video Collection

  • Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
    Online collection of documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety. Alexander Street/Library Subscription
  • CJ Mediagraphy
    List of videos available in Criminal Justice

Homeland Security

  • Homeland Security Digital Library
    HSDL is a nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management

Finding articles

  • Proquest Criminal Justice
    Provides indexing and abstracts for about 200 U.S. and international journals in the areas of criminal justice, corrections administration, law enforcements, social work, criminal and family law. Also provides full text for about 50 of the most frequently accessed journals used by criminal justice researchers. Proquest/Library Subscription
  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    Provides full text for nearly 5,318 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, biological & ecological sciences, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. EBSCO/TexShare
  • CQ Researcher
    Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. CQ Press/Library Subscription
  • Westlaw Campus Research
    Westlaw Campus provides users access to legal information. Some of materials available in Westlaw Campus are: cases from the federal courts and all 50 states; state and federal statutes; federal regulations; American Law Reports; American Jurisprudence. West Group/Library Subscription
  • Legal Collection  Icon
    Full text for nearly 250 scholarly law journals centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment. EBSCO/Texshare
  • Military and Government Collection  Icon
    Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military. The database provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. Also included is full text of over 245 pamphlets. EBSCO/Texshare
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service
    A federally sponsored information clearinghouse for research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Provides access to citations found in a database of journal articles, reports, books and audiovisual material on criminal justice with coverage from the 1970s
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  Icon
    Examines contemporary issues from the pro and con. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. Gale/Library Subscription
  • Humanities Full Text  Icon
    Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama and poetry in all fields of the humanities from art, classical studies, and film to journalism and more. EBSCO/H.W. Wilson/TexShare

Reference works

  • Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
    This reference resource not only discusses many different kinds of crime--from perjury to terrorism--but also looks at law enforcement, legal procedures and penalties, and the social causes and wide-ranging impact of crimes on society. The articles reflect issues dominating the news and entertainment media--topics that are frequently discussed or assigned in both high school and college curricula
  • The Oxford Companion to American Law
    This source describes the development of positive, common, and constitutional law as well as arbitration, mediation, and alternative dispute resolution. It covers issues involving law's role in structuring decisions about governance, the significance of state and local law and legal institutions, and the place of American law in a comparative international perspective
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Gale/VCUHVLibrary
 

Search the Library Catalog

There are many ways to search for books in the Library Catalog. One way is to use the KEYWORD search. Keep these things in mind:

  • Select keywords (generally nouns) that describe your topic
  • Use a connecting word between the keywords.  The most common connecting word is AND.
  • Put phrases in quotation marks

Here are some examples:

  • Phrase - "inorganic chemistry"
  • Two Keywords - nanotechnology AND medicine
 

Ask A Librarian

AskaLibrarian

Phone: 361-570-4166

Toll-free: 800-687-5006

Our LibGuides can help you with:

  • Citing Your Sources
  • Writing a Paper
  • Database Searching
  • Finding Literary Criticism

Go to our LibGuides Home Page

 

InterLibrary Loan Service

If we don't have it, don't worry!  Our InterLibrary Loan Service can help.

We can borrow books and journal articles from another library.

It's Free!
 

Is my article available?

If the article is in the database you will see one of these icons underneath  the citation. Just click on the icon to get to the article.

 

HINT: Make sure your popup blocker is turned off if you are using the Internet Explorer browser.

No full text?  Order a copy from Interlibrary Loan.  It's fast and it's free!

VC/UHV Library
2602 N. Ben Jordan
Victoria, TX 77901

361-570-4166
toll-free 800-687-5006
Contact Us

Victoria College
UH-Victoria
Facebook WordPress RSS
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip