- Statistical Abstracts of the U.S.
Includes basic statistics for a wide range of economic indicators. The index leads to specific table numbers, each of which lists the source for further reference
- Background notes
Prepared by the regional bureaus of the State Dept., these are facts about the land, people, history government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty
- Country Studies: Area handbooks
a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political and national security systems and institutions of countries of the world. It examines the inter-relationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by culture. Provided by the Library of Congress
- CQ Researcher
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. CQ Press/Library Subscription
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Examines contemporary issues from the pro and con. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. Gale/Library Subscription
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis is several databases in one. It is a journals database, providing indexing and fulltext for hundreds of magazines, journals, and newspapers. It is a business database that provides company news, history and financial data. it is a legal database that provides full text court cases, state and federal codes, along with legal news and reviews. It also provides access to TV and radio broadcast transcripts.
- Consumer Health Complete
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Contains digital videos on health-related topics. Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. EBSCO/Texshare
- Regional Business News
Full text newswire database incorporating business wires from all over the world. Included in this database are A&G Information, Africa News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business News Wire, Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network, and Phillips Business Information Highlights. EBSCO/TexShare
- Global Road Warrior
Practical business travel guide to over 175 countries. In addition to basic geographical information such as climate and demographics, has great information about doing business in the selected country. Information includes business ethics, how meetings are conducted, proper business attire & attitudes toward time and punctuality. Technical information about internet connections, communications, health and medical for the traveler is also included. Library Subscription
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 5,318 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, biological & ecological sciences, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. EBSCO/TexShare
Designed for students, TOPICsearch can be used as both a reference resource in the school library and a curriculum support tool in the classroom. EBSCO/TexShare
There are many ways to search for books in the Library Catalog. One way is to use the KEYWORD search. Keep these things in mind:
- Select keywords (generally nouns) that describe your topic
- Use a connecting word between the keywords. The most common connecting word is AND.
- Put phrases in quotation marks
Here are some examples:
- Phrase - "inorganic chemistry"
- Two Keywords - nanotechnology AND medicine
Our LibGuides can help you with:
- Citing Your Sources
- Writing a Paper
- Database Searching
- Finding Literary Criticism
Go to our LibGuides Home Page
If we don't have it, don't worry! Our InterLibrary Loan Service can help.
We can borrow books and journal articles from another library.
- VAST: Academic Video Online
Comprehensive collection of online video. Academic Video Online, also known as VAST, provides a cross-search of all Alexander Street Press video subscribed to by our library in a wide variety of subject areas. Currently provides access to over 13,000 video titles. Alexander Street/Library Subscription