- Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the accepted authority on the English language . It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over a half a million words, present and past. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. The online version is updated quarterly. Oxford U. Press/Library Subscription
- MLA International Bibliography
Bibliographic index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is compiled by the Modern Language Association. Annually indexes over 50,000 books and articles. Also available in the Literature Resource Center. Gale/Library Subscription
- Academic OneFile
Directed primarily at academic researchers, Academic OneFile is a collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines from science, technology and medicine to the humanities. Content is provided in both HTML and PDF formats. Gale/Library Subscription
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 5,318 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, biological & ecological sciences, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. EBSCO/TexShare
- Oxford Reference Online
Covering the full spectrum of subjects: from General Reference & Language to Science & Medicine, from Humanities & Social Sciences to Business and Professional, Oxford Reference Online is a full & authoritative resource of over 100 dictionaries and reference titles. Oxford U. Press/Library Subscription
- Oxford Bilingual Dictionaries
A collection of foreign language dictionaries including French, German, Irish, Spanish Latin, Welsh and Italian
There are many ways to search for books in the Library Catalog. One way is to use the KEYWORD search. Keep these things in mind:
- Select keywords (generally nouns) that describe your topic
- Use a connecting word between the keywords. The most common connecting word is AND.
- Put phrases in quotation marks
Here are some examples:
- Phrase - "inorganic chemistry"
- Two Keywords - nanotechnology AND medicine
Our LibGuides can help you with:
- Citing Your Sources
- Writing a Paper
- Database Searching
- Finding Literary Criticism
Go to our LibGuides Home Page
If we don't have it, don't worry! Our InterLibrary Loan Service can help.
We can borrow books and journal articles from another library.