Resources for research in literature and languages.
MFS: Modern Fiction Studies publishes articles on works of modern and contemporary literature. Devoted to criticism and scholarship of fiction of the twentieth century, the journal emphasizes theoretical, historical, interdisciplinary, and cultural approaches to narrative. The Library has access from 1985 to the current issue.
Go to MFS: Modern Fiction Studies.
Comparative Literature Stuides publishes comparative articles in literature and culture, critical theory, and cultural and literary relations. It brings together the work of critics, scholars, theorists and literary historians, whose essays range across teh traditions of Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas. The Library has access to issues from 2003 to the current issue.
Go to Comparative Literature Stuides via the publisher website (August 1999-Current Issue).
Go to Comparative Literature Studies via Academic Search Complete (December 2003-2011 [Missing last 6 months]).
- Literature Resource Center
A multi-faceted reference source containing more than 285,000 full-text journal articles from more than 133 literary journals, 38,000 critical essays, 4,329 work overviews, plot summaries and explications. Users can also find more than 122,000 author biographies, 2,500 author portraits. Included as well is the Merriam-Webster's® Encyclopedia of Literature. GaleGroup/Texshare
- MLA International Bibliography
Bibliographic index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is compiled by the Modern Language Association. Annually indexes over 50,000 books and articles. Also available in the Literature Resource Center. Gale/Library Subscription
The JSTOR database contains the complete archives of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800's. The VC/UHV Library's JSTOR/Library Subscription/ collection consists of journals in the liberal arts, business, and health. JSTOR
- Biography in Context
Biography in Context provides thumbnail & narrative biographies on over 500,000 people from standard library reference books. There are also full-text biographical articles from about 265 magazines. Gale/Library Subscription
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 5,318 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, biological & ecological sciences, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. EBSCO/TexShare
- Academic OneFile
Directed primarily at academic researchers, Academic OneFile is a collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines from science, technology and medicine to the humanities. Content is provided in both HTML and PDF formats. Gale/Library Subscription
- Literature Criticism Online
Electronic version of several Gale literature cricitism series. The VC/UHV Library has purchased the Short Story, Poetry, Drama, and Nineteenth Century Criticism sets . The Contemporary Literature Cricitism Series is available through Literature Resource Center. Other titles in the criticism series, such as Shakespeare Criticism are available in paper format in the Library's Reference Collection. Gale/Library Subscription
Our LibGuides can help you with:
- Citing Your Sources
- Writing a Paper
- Database Searching
- Finding Literary Criticism
Go to our LibGuides Home Page
If we don't have it, don't worry! Our InterLibrary Loan Service can help.
We can borrow books and journal articles from another library.