JONA: The Journal of Nursing Administration
JONA is the authoritative source of information on developments and advances in patient care leadership. Content is geared to nurse executives, directors of nursing, and nurse managers in hospital, community health, and ambulatory care environments. The Library has access to issues from 1996 to the current issue.
JAMA-Journal of the American Medical Association
JAMA is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal. The key objective of the publication is to promote the science and art of medicine and the betterment of the public health. The Library has access to issues from 1998 to the current issue.
AJN: American Journal of Nursing
American Journal of Nursing's mission is to promote excellence in professional nursing, with a global perspective, by providing cutting edge, evidence-based information that embraces a holistic perspective on health and nursing. The Library has access to issues from 1900 to the current issues.
Go to AJN via JSTOR US for issues 1900-2003.
Go to AJN via Journals @ OVID for issues 1996-current.
Finding Articles
- CINAHL Complete
Comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals. Provides full text for more than 1,300 journals. Coverage dates back to 1937. Includes searchable Cited References, Evidence-based Care Sheets, Continuing Education Modules Modules, and full text Research Instrument Records. EBSCO/Library Subscription - Medline with Full TextProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text coverage for over 1,300 journals as far back as 1965. EBSCO/Texshare/LibrarySubscription
- Journals@OVIDFull-text of important nursing journals not found in other databases - American Journal of Nursing; CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing; JONA's Healthcare Law, Ethics, and Regulation; JONA: The Journal of Nursing Administration; MCN, The American Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing; Nurse Educator; The Nurse Practitioner, Nursing 0X; and, Nursing Research. OVID/Library subscription
- Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. Wiley/Library Subscription - Science DirectSearchable, browsable database of journals published by Elsevier Publishers. The VC/UHV Library has full-text access to about 1,200 journals in the health and life sciences, and the social sciences - including business, managements, economics, accountin, finance, and psychology. Abstracts, tables of contents and some complimentary full-text may be available in other subject areas. Elsevier/Library Subscription
- PubMedNational Library of Medicine PubMed is a database of over 15 million citations for articles published in more than 4800 biomedical journals and magazines from the U.S. and 70 other countries. Coverage dates back to the 1950's. Links to full text and related resources are included.
- Nursing and Allied Health CollectionAll aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
- BioMed Central: The Open Access PublisherThis site gives full-text access to 223 peer-reviewed open access journals in the fields of medicine and biology. All articles published by BioMed Central are archived and available in PubMed Central.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals. EBSCO/TexShare - Health Reference Center - Academic
Integrated database providing articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, and magazines with full-text reference works, multi-media, and consumer health information. Gale/TexShare - DynamedClinical reference tool created by health care professionals for "point of care" use. Updated daily, monitors over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases. Each publication is reviewed cover-to-cover and evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. New evidence is integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed to represent a synthesis of the best available evidence. EBSCO/Library Subscription
- Consumer Health Complete
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Contains digital videos on health-related topics. Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. EBSCO/Texshare - Health Source: Consumer Edition
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 170 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. EBSCO/TexShare - Alternative Health Watch
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full text articles from more than 170 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, association & consumer newsletters (most from 1990 to the present), plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. EBSCO/TexShare - MedicLatina
Spanish language database containing the complete table of contents and PDF full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals published in native Spanish. EBSCO/Texshare
Ask A Librarian
Phone: 361-570-4166
Toll-free: 800-687-5006
Our LibGuides can help you with:
- Citing Your Sources
- Writing a Paper
- Database Searching
- Finding Literary Criticism
Go to our LibGuides Home Page
InterLibrary Loan Service
If we don't have it, don't worry! Our InterLibrary Loan Service can help.
We can borrow books and journal articles from another library.
It's Free!
APA Citation Guide
Helpful Research Guides
- Last Updated May 14, 2012
Persistent URLs can be used in your bibliography and will return you to the same article every time.
128 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 12, 2012
This guide will explain a DOI and show you how to use it in your bibliography.
240 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 12, 2012
Google Scholar can help you find scholarly material on your research topic.
76 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 22, 2013
This research guide will help you find a variety of library resources related to evidence-based nursing practice.
51 views this year



Loading...
