- Oxford Reference Online-Dictionary of Sociology
Complied by an expert team of sociologists, this dictionary spans an international range of terms, methods, and concepts. The 3rd edition includes biographies of key figures and entries on topics ranging from environmental determinism to orientalism and political science, as well as real-life examples of theories in practice
Political Sociology for a Globalizing World
Publication Date: 2010-11-16
This accessible book addresses one of the twenty-first century's most important issues: the increasing lack of connection between political institutions and the social reality of our everyday lives.
- Infotrac Diversity Studies Collection
A subset of Academic One-File, this database contains a collection of 11 eBooks and 150 journals focused on exploring cultural differences, contributions, and influences. All journals in this collection are full-text. Gale/Library Subscription
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Examines contemporary issues from the pro and con. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. Gale/Library Subscription
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 5,318 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, biological & ecological sciences, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. EBSCO/TexShare
- Science Direct
Searchable, browsable database of journals published by Elsevier Publishers. The VC/UHV Library has full-text access to about 1,200 journals in the health and life sciences, and the social sciences - including business, managements, economics, accountin, finance, and psychology. Abstracts, tables of contents and some complimentary full-text may be available in other subject areas. Elsevier/Library Subscription
- Master File Premier
Provides full text for nearly 1,860 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. Also includes indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,780 periodicals. EBSCO/TexShare
Index of journal literature in education, as well as education-related material such as books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, curriculum materials, and theses. Links to available full-text. EBSCO/TexShare
- Dictionary of the Social Sciences
This resource contains concise, clearly written definitions of important terms in anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies and Marxism
- Global Road Warrior
Practical business travel guide to over 175 countries. In addition to basic geographical information such as climate and demographics, has great information about doing business in the selected country. Information includes business ethics, how meetings are conducted, proper business attire & attitudes toward time and punctuality. Technical information about internet connections, communications, health and medical for the traveler is also included. Library Subscription
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
A one-volume summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Stat Abstract is an answer book (How much corn is grown in Indiana?) and a guide to statistical resources (What organization has the most authoritative data on foreclosures?) Produced and published now by Proquest. Library subscription
There are many ways to search for books in the Library Catalog. One way is to use the KEYWORD search. Keep these things in mind:
- Select keywords (generally nouns) that describe your topic
- Use a connecting word between the keywords. The most common connecting word is AND.
- Put phrases in quotation marks
Here are some examples:
- Phrase - "inorganic chemistry"
- Two Keywords - nanotechnology AND medicine
Our LibGuides can help you with:
- Citing Your Sources
- Writing a Paper
- Database Searching
- Finding Literary Criticism
Go to our LibGuides Home Page
If the article is in the database you will see one of these icons underneath the citation. Just click on the icon to get to the article.
HINT: Make sure your popup blocker is turned off if you are using the Internet Explorer browser.
No full text? Order a copy from Interlibrary Loan. It's fast and it's free!
Use Google Scholar to find additional scholarly resources. Use TDNet to locate them in the library or Interlibrary Loan to request a copy.