The Governor's Hounds
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
In the tumultuous years following the Civil War, violence and lawlessness plagued the state of Texas, often overwhelming the ability of local law enforcement to maintain order. In response, Reconstruction-era governor Edmund J. Davis created a statewide police force that could be mobilized whenever and wherever local authorities were unable or unwilling to control lawlessness.
- Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Produced for over 100 years, Sanborn maps charted the growth and development of American cities. Sanborn maps are large scale plans of a city or town, at a scale of 50ft to an inch.
- Old Maps Online
The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. There is a list of Texas maps available on the right column. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution
- Index to Texas Magazines and Documents
Emphasis on Texas publications in business, education, history, and government, with magazines of general interest also included. VC/UHV Library
- Texas Reference Center
Includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. Contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans. Also available is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas. EBSCO/Texshare
- Academic OneFile
Directed primarily at academic researchers, Academic OneFile is a collection of more than 8,000 journals covering a variety of academic disciplines from science, technology and medicine to the humanities. Content is provided in both HTML and PDF formats. Gale/Library Subscription
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 5,318 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, biological & ecological sciences, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. EBSCO/TexShare
- Rand Texas
Rand Texas, a service of the nation’s leading think tank, is a portfolio of statistics on Texas and other states drawn from over 110 databases in 7 categories: Economics (employment, foreign trade, airline operations, etc.) to Population/Demographics (populations, projections, immigration, mortality, etc.) to Education (enrollment, finances, teacher salaries, etc.) and more (Health and Socioeconomic, Government Finance, Energy and Environment, and Community).
- Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Access to state archives and TRAIL , which searches and locates information from over 180 Texas state agency web servers.
- Texas Online
- State of Texas government and law link. Online access to license renewals, public records, voter registration and political representatives.
- Texas State Directory
- Although this is a commercial site, there is quite a lot of information available about Texas for free under the helpful links. This directory has been a source of information on government in Texas since 1935.
- Texas Almanac
- Like the Texas State Directory, this is a commercial site with a lot of free content. By clicking on the topics listed on the left side of the screen, users can access content from the current Almanac.
There are many ways to search for books in the Library Catalog. One way is to use the KEYWORD search. Keep these things in mind:
- Select keywords (generally nouns) that describe your topic
- Use a connecting word between the keywords. The most common connecting word is AND.
- Put phrases in quotation marks
Here are some examples:
- Phrase - "inorganic chemistry"
- Two Keywords - nanotechnology AND medicine
Our LibGuides can help you with:
- Citing Your Sources
- Writing a Paper
- Database Searching
- Finding Literary Criticism
Go to our LibGuides Home Page
If we don't have it, don't worry! Our InterLibrary Loan Service can help.
We can borrow books and journal articles from another library.
- Handbook of Texas Online
Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture containing more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, and institutions. Texas State Historical Association.