More Citation Guides
- Last Updated Sep 26, 2013
This guides provides links to websites and handouts to help you format in-text citations and bibliographies in APA, MLA and Chicago styles.
764 views this year
- Last Updated Jun 13, 2013
This guide will explain a DOI and show you how to use it in your bibliography.
226 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 28, 2014
Persistent URLs can be used in your bibliography and will return you to the same article every time.
153 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 28, 2014
Citation examples using MLA 7th edition.
169 views this year
Basic Citation Information
Citations are found in bibliographies and indexes, usually from one of the library's databases. A citation identifies a book, periodical article, or other information resource. A citation will include the basic pieces of information necessary to allow you to find the article. That same information is used to create the list of references, or bibliography you will put in your research paper. Your instructor can then use the citations in the bibliography of your paper to identify and locate those same articles.
A single citation is sometimes called a "reference." A list of citations is generally known as a "bibliography," although sometimes the list is called simply a "works cited" page or "list of references."
When you place citations in your research paper, they must be written in a correct format by following the style manual of a particular discipline. The two most used citation styles at Victoria College and the University of Houston-Victoria are the APA (American Psychological Association) style and the MLA (Modern Language Association) style. Be sure to follow the style manual recommended by your instructor.
Ask A Librarian
Our LibGuides can help you with:
- Citing Your Sources
- Writing a Paper
- Database Searching
- Finding Literary Criticism
Go to our LibGuides Home Page