The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the accepted authority on the English language . It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over a half a million words, present and past. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. The online version is updated quarterly. Library Subscription
"From the conjectured identity of the Dark Lady of the Sonnets to the misprints in the First Folio, from Shakespeare's favourite figures of speech to the staging of Othello in South Africa, a team of 100 internationally renowned scholars provides a lucid, stimulating, and authoritative guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems, and their interpretation around the world over the last four centuries. Special feature entries on every play are included."
Master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source. A search of this database by the name of an author will result in citations to entries on that author and treatments of that author's major works in the 130 products published by the Gale group. This database will only provide the citation. The full text must then be located.
Electronic version of several Gale literature cricitism series. The VC/UHV Library has purchased the Short Story, Poetry, Drama, and Nineteenth Century Criticism sets . The Contemporary Literature Cricitism Series is available through Literature Resource Center. Other titles in the criticism series, such as Shakespeare Criticism are available in paper format in the Library's Reference Collection. Gale
Surveys critical thought on literary authors from the beginning of the 20th century to the present. Provides excerpts of criticisms from the time an author was first writing to what present day critics are saying. This database can be searched by itself or simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Gale
Critical biographies of literary authors from all time periods, genres, and national literatures. This database can be searched by itself or simultaneously with Contemporary Literary Criticism and Contemporary Authors. Gale
Cites records in collections of essays and works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada dating back to 1985 and spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences. EBSCO/H.W. Wilson
Index to over 31,000 classic and historical plays dating from 1949, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from famous playwrights. EBSCO/H.W. Wilson